benjaminrhesse

benjaminrhesse

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Week 5 Reflection

July 6, 2017

This was a busy and compressed week. Being on vacation in Portland, celebrating Independence Day, and having only my phone to access assignments, read, and post made things interesting.

I planned ahead of time to create a twitter essay for the first of the assignments. Planning ahead allowed me to interpret my visit to Portland through the lens of our class and social media. A twitter essay is supposed to carry over at least three tweets and tell a story of some sort. Researching this unorthodox approach to essay writing I found teachers using it in classrooms via rough and final drafts, people utilizing it for how to lessons that brought in photos and video, and my general take away was that I could approach it with a lot of freedom. I stitched together five tweets with 3-4 photographs per each that focussed on portraying the landscape from three different perspectives – looking down, eye level, and looking up. I left the themes pretty open and just tried to find things that caught my eye. I am happy with the final product and I really enjoyed having to create something interesting every day. Thanks Brad!

The daily create from this week also involved photography as you were asked about your – “growlery grou-‘ler-ē noun; a place of refuge or retreat when one is out of sorts or in ill-humor.”  The daily asked us: What does yours look like? Show us in a sketch, photo or any way you like. It may not be a physical place. I chose daybreak on the eastern plains of Colorado where I always find a level of quiet and calm. I pulled a photo from a recent visit and added text. It was a simple assignment, but I was thankful for it since the week feels rushed.

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 2.02.46 PM

My second assignment was web-based: hack the news. We were asked to use Mozilla’s X-Ray Goggle app in the bookmark section of our browser and rework text and images found in current news websites. It took an hour or so to figure out the html coding and what not, but I was able to redesign the NPR site to remix food & politics. I enjoyed this immensely.

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 1.56.02 PM

My final assignment was a critique of the literary journal Five Dial’s The Role of Music. It was a questionnaire and story wrapped up in one. Read my previous post for an analysis of experimental digital storytelling.

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 1.16.53 PM

 

Thinking back on the week, I have really been appreciating the work my classmates have been creating. Specifically, Jasmine Yap. She always adds something interesting, creative, and graphic to our discussions and assignments. Here are two examples of her work this week:

 

The theme of finding one’s voice amidst the polyphony of modalities is difficult, but extremely enjoyable. As cliche as it sounds, I feel the more you put into this type of class, the storytelling, the assignments, the more you get out of it. The more you experiment with different digital platforms, the easier they become, the more you are able to clearly communicate your ideas and have fun with the process. Onto week six!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

